What is mac os x base system disk 1

How to Re-Install OS X with Internet Recovery on a Mac

Phoenix : The only requirement is that the target volume has enough free space to store the contents of the source volume.

What version of OS X does recovery mode install?

Partition Format Requirements. Cloning with Disk Utility is not a backup or copy procedure, it's an overwriting procedure. When using Disk Utility , it will essentially duplicate the format of the source volume. However, the format of the source and target volumes must be the same. Partition Scheme Requirements.

This applies to both Disk Utility and Phoenix : The target volume should be in the same partition scheme as the source volume, which generally means it should be a GUID partition scheme since we're focussing on Intel based Mac's. Time Requirements. For standard hard drives, expect the process to take about 1minute per gigabyte. Generally, expect it to take about 1 minute per gigabyte of used space on the source volume. The reason this can be problematic is because the OS can automatically append a digit to an existing volume with an identical name even though the volumes may have completely different content.

Several applications can become confused by this. We recommend using a descriptive name for the clone or, if you insist on using numbers, put no spaces between the original name and the numeric identifier. If you use Disk Utility instead of Phoenix to perform cloning operations, at the end of the cloning process, Disk Utility will exhibit this exact behavior - your cloned volume will have the exact same name as the source volume. After the system boots up, we recommend changing the name of either the source or target volume as soon as possible.

The procedures will be identical in each case regardless of the operating system being used. Additionally, Phoenix may be used to clone volumes and operating systems from OS X After starting in this mode, the system, by default, will put the volume that is designated as the last primary boot volume in the center. Although the image above shows three different drives, it's actually one drive. The FireWire drive we're going to use as the target doesn't show up here because it's not a bootable volume yet and any other volumes that aren't bootable will not show up as well. You can, at this point, select which volume to boot by clicking on the drive icon and then the up-arrow underneath it, at which point the system will start booting.

If our target drive was already successfully cloned, it would show up in this list as well. As seen in the following screen photo, we've clicked on the Recovery After clicking on the up-arrow underneath the Recovery When booting is complete, you will be presented with a list of tools, and you'll want to select Disk Utility from the list. After Disk Utility starts, you'll be presented with its user interface with nothing selected as shown below. The order of the disks and volumes will obviously vary from system to system, but in our case the internal hard drive on the system is a The The volume labeled SuperDrive is the optical disk, which is empty.

After Disk Utility comes up, click on the target drive you want to clone, which in our example is the volume named Mountain Lion.

After clicking on the Mountain Lion volume, we click on the Restore option along the upper end of the user interface. The following screen shot illustrates what it looks like:. The next part is about the only part that's tricky in this process, because Disk Utility 's interface, in our opinion, is a little bit buggy. You now need to select the target volume, but if you do so it might end up putting it in the place of the source volume, or you might end up, if not careful, selecting the wrong volume all together.

You may also need to re-do the same for the source volume by repeating the procedure but using the Set as source option by right-clicking control-clicking on older input devices on the source volume, which in our case is the volume named Mountain Lion. Although this might sound silly or simple minded to some, re-check everything!!! Once the cloning process has begun you'll be wiping out all data on the selected target drive, and if you're not careful or you've inadvertently selected the wrong source or volume, you may very well be very, very sorry!

The following screen shot shows both the proper source volume Mountain Lion and the selected target New Backup properly selected:. Once the source Mountain Lion and target New Backup have been selected, the only thing left to do is click on the Restore button. After clicking on the Restore button, you will given one last opportunity to back out of the process as shown in the following screen shot:.

Re-check your selections one last time, and if ready to proceed with cloning, click on the Erase button. If you decide not to proceed, click on the Cancel button and nothing will happen.

Once the cloning procedure has begun, it must run to completion. You cannot interrupt it and restart it. If it's stopped for some reason in the middle of cloning the target drive will likely be left in an indeterminate state. Remember that this procedure will likely take a long time. During cloning, the progress of the operation is illustrated by the progress bar located in the lower right hand corner of the user interface. The wording accompanying the progress bar will indicate the operation being performed. After copying is complete, it will go through the verification process.

In the screen shot below, the verification process is underway with about 3 minutes remaining. When verification is complete, the cloning process will be complete, and the cloned volume will now be an exact duplicate of the target drive, including name and Recovery volume.

The volume formerly known as New Backup now has the name Mountain Lion. Unless monitoring the process, the only way to tell will be that the progress indicator in the lower right corner corner of Disk Utility will be gone, and the target volume will now have the same name as the source volume.

  • samsung allshare cast mac download;
  • plugin ico photoshop cs6 mac.
  • mac backup strategy time machine.
  • force quit a mac from keyboard.
  • partition - What is the 'Mac OS X Base System' disk image on my MacBook AIr? - Ask Different.
  • msn outgoing mail server mac;
  • office for mac 2011 applications!

The screen shot below illustrates how Disk Utility appeared when the cloning process was complete. Notice that cloned volume is now named Mountain LIon as well. To test out your new cloned volume, quit Disk Utility and you will be prompted to select a boot volume. When the list comes up, your cloned volume will be there. Notice this takes you out of recovery mode, and Recovery volumes aren't listed. Posted on Feb 11, PM.

Apple Footer

Apr 13, PM in response to minjun In response to minjun Hi to anyone else who accidentally restored the macintosh he with the OS X base System here are a few steps to follow to hopefully resolve your issues:. Apr 13, PM. Feb 11, PM in response to minjun In response to minjun Is that all you see?

Maybe indented under something called "Apple disk image Media".

Macintosh HD isn't visible in Disk Utility after trying to update OS X

So do you also see a hard disk icon identified by a brand name, such as "Apple SSD"? If so, when you highlight it, what does it say in the white box underneath in terms of partition map and capacity? Is it called "disk0" at the bottom right?

How to Wipe a Mac Hard Disk Drive (HDD)

Self employed contract worker. Feb 19, 1 0. No danj Yosemite was working properly. Reactions: bhrt. Jan 26, 1 0. Jul 29, AM in response to minjun In response to minjun

Does it look like it might be your real hard drive? If so, what happens if you try to erase it? If this is really your hard drive, then this step should recreate your Macintosh HD volume.

https://viptarif.ru/wp-content/nokia/4256.php Feb 11, PM. Feb 11, PM in response to S. In response to S. Page content loaded.

Macintosh HD isn't visible in Disk Utility after trying to update OS X

Feb 12, AM in response to minjun In response to minjun Feb 12, AM. Apr 14, AM. Apr 25, PM.

How to Erase Delete All information Files and Reinstall OS X in Mac Restore to Factory Settings

I should've suggested a few other things anyway. This will boot into Internet Recovery. Erase and restore are no longer grayed out!